Why – Is it already the 23rd of January?

Today is…

January 23rd, 2011

I don’t understand

How did we get here already?

I remember being at a New Year’s Celebration service

Spiritually preparing myself for the year ahead…

And here I am. The 23rd day. Basically the end of January-

January was a month

That held so much potential so much expectation

And already a lot of that has been

Explored

and

Met

…but January [so far]

has also been filled with

Some unpleasant surprises

Still

I’ve maneuvered through them

As best as I can

By God’s Grace

….

One other note

Because today is January 23rd

It means that in exactly 9 months

I’ll be getting older

Again

Usually I would mind but I don’t mind

I would mind because the real world is fast encroaching upon me

And also each year further removes me from the best parts of my childhood

But I don’t mind

Because greater is He that is in me than He that is in the world

I’m ready to overcome

Through Christ Jesus

And as for leaving childhood behind

I came across an awesome quote

“The great thing about getting older is you don’t lose all the other ages you’ve been.”

Leave a Reply

