Rebekah’s Dream Man Part III

I looked at both my brother and father. I took a deep breath and began to relay my reoccurring dreams.

“As long as I can remember, well maybe since I was 9 or 10 I had dreamed of this man, he kept looking at me but he never said anything to me.”

“A man?” Laban echoed.

“Yes,” I continued, “At first it was just his face. And every time I started to forget the features of his face I would dream of him again.”

Laban looked at our father, “Father, what does that mean?”

“I’m not sure my son but perhaps there is more…is there more to be said Rebekah?”

“Yes Father. Then I started to dream of this man in a field with a robe of rich colors, purple, gold and red…”

“This is a wealthy man,” exclaimed Laban.

“Is that the end of all your dreams my daughter?”

“No, father. I started having another dream along with that one. I dreamt of the well outside our village -”

My father leaned in, more intent than ever.

“And what of the well?” My father asked.

“I was at the well but I saw many camels and they were thirsty as if they had made a long journey.”

“How many camels?” Laban asked.

“Ten.” I said matter of factly.

“Ten camels?” My father asked.

“How can you be sure?” Laban asked.

“I’ve had these dreams on many different occasions. I counted them as I gave them water to drink.”

“To whom did these camels belong?” My father inquired.

“That’s just it father, I know no other details. That is all I can remember of these dreams. I…I don’t know what it means but it means something!”

“Laban, what do you think?”

“Curious father. Very curious. Father, do you believe God is trying to tell Rebekah something?”

I lowered my eyes to the ground. My father gently lifted my head holding me by my chin.

“My daughter, I have no doubt these dreams mean something and are sent from God.”

I felt a flood of relief. I had taken a great risk in possibly upsetting my father or brother.

“Will you force me to marry before I know the meaning?” I asked.

“No, but we must pray that God reveals the meaning to us. I would not have you become an old, barren woman in your father’s house.”

“Yes, father. I will pray for speedy revelation. Thank you.” I bowed and was excused from the presence of my father and brother.

Leave a Reply

