Whirlwind Part XII

There was a knock on the door. The doctor entered the room and made his way over to the bed.

“I see our miracle patient is awake. How are you feeling Pavi?” The doctor asked.

“I’m not in any physical pain if that’s what you mean…”

The doctor nodded with understanding.

“When can I go home?”

“As early as tomorrow if you promise to take it easy and someone monitors you closely for the next couple of weeks to make sure that nothing comes up.” The doctor said looking at everyone else in the room.”

“That won’t be a problem. Her father and I are here until Saturday…” said Pavi’s mom.

“I’m here until Thursday evening.” Liana said to Pavi. Pavi nodded.

“And I’ll be the one taking care of her once they leave.”

“Good,” The doctor said. “How does tomorrow sound Pavi?”

“It can’t come soon enough.”

“Like I said I expect you to take it very easy when you get home. I know you seem fine but you’ve been through a very traumatic experience. I’ll have a psychologist come by for 30 minutes every day for the rest of the week and then 30 minutes on Wednesdays for as long as he or she may feel necessary. Okay?”

“Yes.”

“I know the rest of you will better be able to enjoy the night now that you see our girl is awake.”

“Yes,doctor. Thank you.” Pavi’s mother said.

“You’re welcome. Pavi if you need anything or if any of you need anything, let the nurse know. Have a goodnight.” The doctor exited the room.

Pavi’s mother looked at Liana, “Come on let’s step outside the room and make some phone calls.”

“Why do you guys need to leave the room?” Pavi asked. “I’m sure some of these people will want to hear my voice.”

“You need your rest,” her mother scolded.

“I’m okay mommy.”

“I know but I don’t want you to talk too much. Just get some rest. I’m going to call your father now. I’m sure he’ll be on his way and you’ll see him. Come on Liana.”

“I guess I’ll be back,” Liana said “Don’t go anywhere.” Liana winked and followed their mother out the door.

“Alone at last!” Jalen said.

Pavi ignored him and looked around the room to see if she could find her phone.

“You need some help?” Jalen asked

“Do you know where my phone is?”

“Why do you need your phone?”

“I’m sure people have heard and have either sent messages or called to find out if I’m okay.”

“You don’t need to worry about that right now sweetie. That’s being taken care of.”

“Do you know where my phone is or not?”

“Pavi you need to relax.”

“I am relaxed!” Pavi shouted frightening both of them. She started to cry.

“It’s okay baby. I’m here for you.”

“God is too good to me! I…I don’t understand. I could have died. Someone else is dead. That, that could have been me Jalen.”

“I know baby. But you’re okay and I’m here with you now.”

“So much doesn’t matter. In an instant it could have been the end of me.”

“Thank God you’re safe.”

Pavi’s body shook with convulsions as the sobs escaped her lips. Jalen held Pavi close to him.

“I love you Pavi,” he whsipered “And I’m not letting you out of my sight until you’re alright.”

Pavi’s mother entered the room an anxious look on her face.

“I heard you crying from the hallway are you okay?” Tears welled up in her eyes at the sight of her daughter.

Pavi managed to calm herself, her chest only heaved up and down she was no longer sobbing.

“She’s okay Mrs. Harris. Just a little overwhelmed.”

“It’s okay baby. Mommy’s here. We’re here okay? Not going anywhere.”

“I want you to go…” Pavi looked at her mother, “When daddy comes I want you to go.”

Both Jalen and Mrs. Harris opened their mouths to argue but Pavi cut them off before they could begin.

“Mommy you need your rest and a ride to the hotel. Jalen you need to rest too you’ve been here with me the whole time. You need to take a break.”

“I’m good babe,” Jalen said.

“Well I’m not. You need to get some real rest. And can someone please find my phone and leave it with me.”

Jalen gave Mrs. Harris a pleading look that escaped Pavi’s attention.

“Sweetheart, you don’t need your phone tonight,” Mrs. Harris said.

“I’m fine mommy. I just want to let everyone know I’m okay.”

“Let us do that for you,” Jalen said.

“You two are already doing too much,” Pavi sighed.

“We just want you to follow the doctors orders.” Mrs. Harris said.

Liana re-entered the room. “What did I miss?”

“Your sister is kicking us us all out to get some rest,” Mrs. Harris said.

“All that sleeping you did?” Liana asked looking at Pavi.

“I don’t need the rest. I want you all to get your rest…” Pavi said.

“Well let Jalen take mommy back to the hotel. My time here is more limited than theirs – I’ll head back with daddy.”

“Fine,” Pavi said, “That means you two can leave now. I’m sure dad is on the way.”

“Yes, he is” said Mrs. Harris.

“Then let me kiss you goodnight. See you two in the morning bright and early ready to be discharged.” Pavi said.

Both Jalen and Mrs. Harris hugged Pavi and she kissed them on the cheek.

“Jalen please drive safely.”

“I will love. Get some rest see you in the morning.”

“Bye,” Pavi raised a hand to wave.

“Call me if you need anything,” Mrs. Harris said.

“Yes, mom.”

Liana and Pavi couldn’t help but chuckle at their mother.

“So…Jalen only gets a kiss on the cheek? Hmmm. Interesting.” Liana commented.

“Why is that interesting?”

“Considering the fact that you almost died I thought you’d want to cover him with kisses. Or are you guys not as serious as I thought?”

“You’re one to talk. You’re married with children and you’re really not a PDA type of person either Li.”

“Yeah but maybe if I almost died…”

Pavi sighed heavily. The tears were starting to well up in her eyes again.

“How you feeling little sister?” Liana said sweetly.

“I’m fine Li. Honest.”

“You sure? You’ve been through quite a bit.”

“You have no idea…”

“Oh don’t I?”

“The accident. I still can’t believe it. That alone will make this weekend a hard one to forget – and that’s on top of everything else.”

Liana raised an eyebrow. “Everything else like what? I talked to you when, Friday morning?”

“Mmhmm.”

“So what am I missing?”

Pavi sighed. “A lot.”

“If you’re feeling as fine as you say you do then telling me about your weekend should be no problem, but if it’s too much it can wait.”

“Where do I begin?”

Leave a Reply

