There’s More

“There’s Got to be more to life than just another temporary high…” – Stacie Orrico “More To Life”

I couldn’t understand why hedonism is “the anthem of this generation” (The Arrows “In the Words of Satan”) until now. The very definition of hedonism is the pursuit of pleasure. Pursuit of something doesn’t guarantee that you will obtain it. The majority of people in the United States are content with pursuing things that will not fullfil them or are simply comfortable with  their mundane lives. I loathe routines and I understand that I too have to succumb to the parameters that God has set for my own life. However, God knows that I want more. I need more. Because I know there’s more to this life. Let me make it personal there’s more to my existence than simply living in a cieled (luxurious) house, getting married, having babies, and going to church a few times a week – while the kingdom of God, his church (the people not the building) lays in ruin (Haggai 1:4). I no longer want to be a part of that.

I’m tired of being comfortable. I’m tired of patting myself on the back and making myself feel better by saying I’m doing more than some others are. That is no longer enough. I’m done with sitting down on the boldness and the power that God has given me as an inheritance. It’s time to do more. I want more. I need more. I can no longer be content with helping those closest to me and closing off my mind to those millions of people who are being persecuted for their faith in Christ daily. People don’t understand that this is real. In America it has become so easy to turn a blind eye to things that don’t affect us. We only want to do so much and no more. But there’s more. How do I know? It’s here in my Bible and there in your Bible too.

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me; because the Lord has anointed me to preach good tidings to the poor; he has sent me to comfort the broken hearted and to proclaim that captives will be released and prisoners will be freed….To all who mourn in Zion, He will give a crown of beauty for ashes, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness: that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he might be glorified.” Isaiah 61:1&3 That responsibility still extends to all of us who are ambassadors of Christ in the earth. I’m no longer going to put that responsibility off on another. I’m not going to think that someone else will do that or fool myself into thinking that those verses were only for Isaiah. I embrace it as my responsibility. We can’t all go out on mission trips out of country or state or even city but we can at least pray. Hebrews 13:3 “Remember those in prison, as if you were there yourself. Remember also those being mistreated, as if you felt their pain in your own bodies.” (NLT) We need to stop living our lives as if these people don’t exist or as if what they’re experiencing is something so abstract we cannot wrap our heads around it. Hundreds of people either die for their faith in Christ or come near to death every day.

We need to pray not only for those being persecuted but also for the persecutors that God might save them. He can do it – He converted Paul and made Paul a great apostle and missionary. There’s nothing too hard for God. God has feelings too and it hurts Him to see His children hurt but this will be a swift witness against their persecutors. The Psalm 116:15 says, “The Lord cares deeply when his loved ones (saints) die.” (NLT) Now is the time to make those things that matter to God matter to us. Take it even further don’t just minister “to the ugly-looking beaten man in the ditch [but also] to the ugly hearts of the robbers who beat him” (Tom White “Voice of the Martyrs”)

Quite frankly, I’m tired of lukewarm Christians who are still straddling the fence. They know who Jesus is and they know of His love for them and for whatever reason they are still dragging their feet and refusing to fully submit. They are but a choice away from going all out for God.

The Good News of God and His display of Love for us through Jesus Christ has still not penetrated the hearts, minds or ears of all people believe it or not. There are people who are so far removed from Jesus that they can’t stand Christians – these are the people God is giving me a heart for. The gospel is for them too. People need to know that God is real and that He loves them. I volunteer to be a willing vessel that will display not only God’s glory but also His love in the earth. So that even some of the hardest hearts will melt at the thought of God’s love for them.

Expand your horizons. The world isn’t just made up of you and me or your church family. There is still a dying world filled with men and women who are in a perishing predicament who need to know the love of God. There are also men and women all over the world who stand with boldness and who are not ashamed to share the gospel of Jesus to  those who need it most and daily run the risk of losing their lives. Won’t you at least join in with me and pray for these people. And also pray that God would bring about a mighty revival filled not only with miracles, signs, and wonders but the cry of hundreds, thousands and even millions of hearts surrendering totally to Him. Will you stand with God and believe His Word?

Join me.

Leave a Reply

