Whirlwind Part VIII

Vance ordered the cookie. A few minutes later the large, freshly baked cookie was placed before them.

Vance looked at Pavi, “You know you want some.”

“Not really.”

“Okay, but don’t say I didn’t ask”

Pavi scoffed, “You didn’t. You just said ‘You know you want some.'”

“Difficult. As always.”

“If you think this is me being difficult then you really don’t know me anymore.”

“Oh I’m sure this is not your best, you are difficult nonetheless. Still – it’s nothing I can’t handle.” Vance winked. “Would you like a piece of my cookie Ms. Harris?”

“I think I will have a piece, thank you.” Pavi picked up her spoon and started to cut a piece of the cookie. She felt Vance’s eyes watching her. She looked up to meet his gaze. “What,” she said.

“So you really ’bout to use a spoon to eat this cookie?”

“Why not?”

“It’s okay you can touch it. I know you don’t have cooties or anything.”

Pavi felt silly and it showed on her face. She put the spoon down and then broke a piece off the cookie with her hand. She bit into it and Vance said,

“Yeeeeeaaaa. You taste that white chocolate macademia nut goodness don’t you?”

Pavi rolled her eyes in response. Secretly she enjoyed it but more because he offered than because of the taste.

After they polished off the large cookie Vance paid for the meal and they exited the restaurant.

“What’s the move now Ms. Harris?”

“I’m not sure. I didn’t have anything planned for the day.”

“Where did you park?”

“Just around the corner behind the restaurant.”

“Man, how’d you manage to do that?”

“Blessed and highly favored sir you might want to roll with me.” Pavi winked.

“Speaking of rolling…how about we go to your car and then you can drop me or rather I’ll drop myself using your car to my car.”

“Um, yea sure.”

They walked to Pavi’s car in silence. Pavi was preoccupied with not saying too much and Vance was focused on coming up with a plan to spend a little more time with Pavi. Vance marched up to the driver’s door and looked at Pavi that was her signal to throw him the keys. He unlocked the car and the they both got in. It took only a minute to get to Vance’s car and there was a parking space behind his car that they pulled into. Vance kept the car running so that the heater was still on. He looked at Pavi.

“So what are you gonna do now?”

“I don’t know Major. What are you gonna do?”

“I’m open.”

“To do what?”

“Whatever you want to do?”

“Oh really?”

“Really. Really.”

Pavi rolled her eyes.

“Could you stop doing that?”

“Why? Is it bothering you?”

“Yes!”

Pavi laughed.

“How?”

“It’s just…your eyes…they’re so Big! Ahhh. Somebody help.” Vance pretended to be beating down the window.

“You’re so crazy.”

Vance shrugged.

“Have you figured out what you’d like to do yet?”

“No. You’re the one that’s open…”

“You’re the one that’s open,” Vance mocked.

“Oh no. I do Not sound like that.”

“‘I do Not sound like that.”

“Stop!” Pavi pushed Vance playfully.

“Think Pavi.”

“I don’t know. I really don’t know.”

“I mean…we could just sit in the car and find stuff to talk about. Like that man right there who can’t remember where he parked. ‘Gee, I’m sure I parked it here.'”

The man they were watching went started talking to a bus driver.

Pavi laughed. “He gotta make it seem like he’s not lost. ‘Uh, sir do you know where I can find my…I mean that building, the tall one with the parking…'”

Vance laughed too. “See we could just sit here and do that.”

“Yea and kill my battery and gas? Mmm I think not.”

“Well I don’t know man.”

“No one’s expecting you to know everything.”

For some reason that changed the tone of things. It was like Pavi just became awake to the situation she was in. She was with Vance and Jalen didn’t know. Had it been a date? Vance paid for the food. But he always paid when they went out. But now she was sitting in her car with him. And they were laughing together which meant she was getting comfortable. And he was in the driver’s seat. He had been the one behind the steering wheel. Pavi found herself struggling to keep her thoughts to herself.

Leave a Reply

