Whirlwind Part VI

Jalen slowly opened the door the next morning – he knew Pavi wasn’t wake yet she wasn’t a morning person but it was time for her to wake up it was almost 10:30a.

He silently padded to the window in his room and opened the blinds. He sat down on the bed and kissed Pavi on her cheek, stirring her.

“Hello sleeping beauty,” he whispered in her ear.

Pavi squinted in the sunlight that had invaded the room.

“Morning,” she said in a muffled voice.

“You’re so beautiful.” Jalen kissed her again but this time on her lips.

Pavi stretched and sat up. Still groggy from being woken up she said “Thank you.”

Jalen opened his mouth to talk again but before he could say anything Pavi said “What time is it? Ugh don’t look at me anymore I just woke up. I need to brush my teeth and comb my hair before you can look at me anymore…”

Pavi got up from the bed grabbed her phone from the night stand table to check any missed calls that she might have slept through and marched to the bathroom. Jalen talked to Pavi through the bathroom door but PAvi didn’t hear any of what he was saying, she was distracted. Vance had called Pavi twice already this morning and sent her a text message telling her to call him back. Hearing Jalen still talking to her through the door she said “Jalen, I’m jumping in the shower finish telling me when I get out.” Pavi turned the shower on and heard when Jalen left the room. She looked at her phone and before she could second guess herself she found herself pressing the call back button on Vance’s missed calls.

“Good morning. I called you twice this morning.”

“Yes I know that’s why I’m calling you back. Everything okay?”

“Yea…everything is fine.”

“So…”

Vance chuckled “Back to your old habits?”

“What old habit?”

“Talking on the phone while taking a shower?”

“Oh please. I’m waiting for the water to heat up.”

“Mmhmm.”

“Whatever Vance. What do you need?”

“What are your plans for the afternoon?”

“I don’t know why?”

“Because if you don’t have any then now you do.”

“Stop talking in code – what are you saying?”

“Let’s grab lunch.”

Pavi paused – “Together?”

“Ah Yes. Together Was implied when I said ‘Let’s’”

“Listen I just woke up. I was nice enough to return your Two missed calls. Don’t push it.”

“Is that a yes or a no?”

“I haven’t decided.”

“I need you to think faster.”

“Why?”

“So I can know what I’m doing.”

“Always about you huh?”

“I’m not begging you. I’m inviting you. If you say no I still have to eat.”

“Lunch sounds good. Where are we going?”

“Meet me downtown at our favorite little pizza joint.”

“I did not say that was my favorite pizza spot.”

“Aw c’mon you love it.”

“What time?”

“Soon as you can be ready.”

“Ok well I’m getting in the shower now…I have to stop home to,” PAvi caught herself, “Um, 12 sound good?”

“See you at 12.”

“Okay bye.”

“Bye.”

Pavi hung up placed the phone on the sink’s counter and got in the shower.  For those few minutes her mind was blank – in no place in particular. Lunch with Vance was no big deal.

Pavi came out the shower dried off and put on her clothes. When she walked into the living room Jalen was there waiting for her.

“You never answered me,” he said.

“Huh? Answer you about what?”

“Didn’t you hear me through the door? I asked what your plans were for today.”

“Oh. I didn’t hear that part.”

“Okay…” Jalen waited a moment for PAvi to speak but she just looked at him. He continued, “Well what are they?”

“What are what?”

Jalen laughed. “Are you still sleeping, beauty?”

PAvi smiled. “Maybe?”

“Your plans for today what are they?”

“OHHHH. Oh. Why didn’t you just say that?” Pavi winked. “I don’t have too much going on. I’m supposed to have lunch with a friend, so thank you for waking me up when you did.” Pavi kissed Jalen on the cheek.

“My pleasure. What time you two meeting up?”

“12. Downtown. So I need to get going so I can stop by my house and put on different clothes. What are you doing?”

“I don’t know. Like I said that project at work got pushed back so I can take it easy this weekend.”

“Good for you! Can’t work too hard.”

“Work smarter not harder.”

“If only it were that easy all the time.”

“If only is right. So what are we doing tonight?”

“I think I’m taking the night for myself.”

JAlen raised an eyebrow – “Hmmm seems like I’m in competition with yourself.”

“No competition. I just want to soak in a hot bath with some candles and read and go to bed early and sleep on that therapeudic mattress.”

“What you trying to say about my mattress?”

“I wasn’t thinking about your mattress but now that you mention it mine Is better than yours.” PAvi winked.

“You weren’t complaining last night or any of the other nights you take it over.”

“Ha! Takeover? Please you willingly turned it over for my use. It likes me better than you anyway. Because I sleep in there just fine.”

“I’ll make it forget you after tonight.”

“Doubt it.” Pavi looked at the time and started putting on her jacket. She kissed Jalen on her way out, waved her cell phone at him and shouted, “I’ll talk to you later.”

She closed the front door got in her car and headed back to her house making a mental list of what she could wear to this lunch date with Vance.

 

 

Leave a Reply

