Whirlwind Part IV

Pavi turned away from Vance opened the car door and got out of the car. Vance followed suit.

As Pavi moved towards her car door she said, “I’m finished here.”

Vance followed her, “Why are you making this so difficult?”

Pavi whirled around to face Vance, “I am making this difficult? Why can’t you take responsibility for any of this? Why is it always me?”

“What do you want me to do?”

“Leave me alone! Stop making it difficult for both of us. It’s been hard Vance. It’s been hard seeing you with other girls. It’s been hard seeing you as Daddy to your 2 year old son. A son that we didn’t even know existed until you took a secret paternity test when he was three months. He looks just like you! Have you ever, ever once for a moment considered that this was as hard on me as you’re claiming it is on you?”

“I cared. I knew it was hard on you and I cared. It was hard for me to be vulnerable and put myself out there. I didn’t know how to go about fixing everything and so I did the only thing I thought wouldn’t make it worse and I left it alone.”

“No! You left me alone! You left me alone to figure everything out by myself! I was open and vulnerable. Your phone calls mean nothing when compared to all the hours I spent driving to see you, to make it work. And for what? For us to have conversations where we talked about Everything except for what happened and how I felt. Every time I answered your call or sent you a text I was putting myself out there! Every time I got in my car to come see you and your family I was putting myself out there. I was always the one waiting. Waiting to fit into your schedule. Waiting until it was convenient for you to be with me. Waiting for you to recognize that I was ready to be there for you regardless of everything that had transpired between us. I got tired of waiting. I’m done with that. I found someone who is willing to work on my terms and makes time to be with me. First as a friend and now as a romantic interest. And here you come to mess everything up. Stop being such a selfish bastard and let me go, let me be happy for once. Keep your distance.”

“He’s not me Pavi.”

Pavi narrowed her eyes. “What’s that supposed to mean?”

“It means that you can’t change him into me. He’s not going to make you feel the way you felt with me. I know how you love…”

“I’ve changed. I’m not 18 anymore Vance. I’m 23.” Pavi opened her car door and got in.

“I know you’ve changed but the way you love hasn’t. You want to give yourself 100% and you haven’t done that with Jalen…not yet because he’s not everything you want.”

Pavi rolled down her window. “You can’t always get what you want.”

“You don’t believe that.”

“I’m starting to…look we don’t have to make just being friends a big deal we can just keep doing what we’ve been doing and if we’re sincere I’m sure it will get better.” Pavi started her engine.

“We can’t be friends. I know that now.”

“And that works too. Please ensure your foot doesn’t get run over.” Pavi started reversing.

“We’ll never be satisfied until we’re husband and wife.”

Pavi stopped the car to study Vance’s face. “What are you saying Vance?”

“I love you Pavi. I’ve always loved you. I’ve only loved you. And I know that you love me.”

“Huh? Well…what do you suggest?”

“Take a chance. Give a real friendship a chance and then see where it goes.”

Pavi reversed out of her driveway then rolled down her passenger window and shouted “I’ve taken plenty of chances already. I’m not sure I want to go that route with you again. Goodnight.” Pavi sped off into the darkness.

Vance stood in the silence that shrouded him for a few more seconds and then got back into his car and went his own way.

Leave a Reply

