Whirlwind Part II

They locked eyes for a second.

“Can we sit in my car now?” Vance asked rubbing his hands together.

“Sure, why not – Mr. Major always gets his way all the time anyway why should I be the one to spoil it for you?”

Vance opened the passenger door to his car and stood back while Pavi got in. He shut the door ran around the front of the car opened the driver’s side and got in. He started the car and turned the heat on. Pavi felt Vance turn his body to face her but she kept looking straight ahead. Vance was studying her.

“What?” Pavi asked with disgust without turning to face him.

“I was just looking. I didn’t mean to cause a problem.”

“Well you failed Vance. You have caused problems…you staring is a problem. Us sitting in this car is a problem. You being here is a problem.”

“You have laugh lines. More of them.”

“I have plenty to smile and laugh about these days.”

“I see.”

“How can I help you Vance?”

“You’re rushing me. I don’t want to be rushed – I’d like to get my words right.”

“Oh please.”

“Yo, can I catch a break?”

“I broke away from Jalen to talk to you. That’s all the break you’re gonna get…and still you’ve said nothing.”

Had Vance been unsure about what he needed to say he would have reconsidered asking Pavi to talk with him considering her attitude towards him. Vance took a deep breath to begin tlaking but at the same time Pavi’s ringtone interrupted them. He knew it was Jalen. Pavi answered.

“Hey…I’m still by the house…yea I should be back in a bit…” Pavi chuckled. “I know. If it gets too late then just call it a night and I’ll see you tomorrow. I know dear but I hadn’t gotten a chance to help before now. Mmhmm. Okay. I know but it makes no sense if you’re sleeping already. Just text me once you decide your out for the count. Okay. Yeeeeaaaaa.” Vance noticed Pavi bit her lip when she said that. Lip biting was a sign that Pavi was engaged in flirting. “Crazy man. Go. I need to go. I promise to be as quick as I can. Bye!” Pavi hung up.

“Flirting,”

“Is that a question or another statement?”

“Statement.”

“Okay, What is it you,”

“You haven’t had sex with him have you?”

Pavi sighed heavily “Why do you care?”

“I care because Jesus cares.”

“Don’t play yourself Major and please don’t lie to me when You were the one who asked me to be here.”

“I’m not lying Jesus does care.”

“Ugh. I’m going.”

“No. I won’t keep you…I just need a few minutes.”

“Men are so predictable.”

“What?”

“It’s always I, I, I – with you all. I only need a few minutes. I need to talk to you. Dag can’t ya see past yourselves?”

“Does that apply to Jalen as well?” said aloud although it was more to himself than to Pavi.

“Yo what’s your beef with Jalen?”

Vance snickered “Beef?”

“Yes. Beef. You keep bringing him up.”

“I don’t have beef but he got you buggin’ ”

“Oh really? How so?”

“You’re sleeping at the crib? You were never down for that type before?”

“What is your point of reference? If your using our history you need to turn the page because that information is outdated. I’m not having sex with Jalen it’s not about him or you it’s about Jesus.”

“It’s only a matter of time…”

“What the heck is that supposed to mean?”

“Man you know what happens you get too comfortable at the crib your gonna let your guard down and you’re gonna get as close as you can without having sex but because you keep playing around with it it’s gonna happen.”

“How dare you? How dare you try to tell me what will and will not happen. You have no idea how I am with Jalen. All of that, what you just said was projection. That’s what You did, do…I don’t know where you stand currently.”

“Can we just be honest for one second?”

“No, no. We need to be honest at all times. That’s your problem. Fronting on me is what got us here in the first place. Now you want to know if I’m kissing dude – please I didn’t ask you if you were kissing your baby’s mother because I wasn’t even aware she existed and clearly ya did more than that.”

“Word? Wow okay so we’re going there.”

“I don’t know where you’re going you the one coming here messing up this status quo and for what because tonight you feel like venting. Well what if tonight’s the night I don’t want to hear it. What would you do if Pavi wasn’t here? Who would you go to because maybe you should try them.”

“I want to apologize.”

“For what Vance?”

“I don’t know where to begin…”

“Yeah.”

“I don’t think I ever understood the depth of the pain I caused you..”

“No you don’t! And this pain you caused is not past tense… you Still cause me pain. Every time I have to see you every time I have to talk to you…you make it difficult to be your friend and it’s painful. I’m in pain Right Now! How’s that for being honest?”

“How do  I change that?”

“I don’t know if it can change – it’s been that way for so long…I don’t want to make this about me, what did you Need to talk about,” Pavi smirked “Forgive me, I’m going to try and drop the attitude.” Pavi sighed “What’s going on with you man?”

“You used to tell me that things between us weren’t as they should be and I couldn’t understand. All I knew was that I thought we were cool, we were good. But about a month ago I couldn’t stop thinking about you. I started to feel the uneasiness between us that I used to ignore…because we do smile and share a laugh in group settings especially Sundays after church. That’s not good enough. I don’t like that things aren’t as they  should be. You know where I stand in regards to settling. I don’t want to settle in anything our relationship is no different.”

Leave a Reply

