Day 8 of 28: Tired? Sleep. Rest.

So that seven page paper I had to do – yea it’s done! Finally. Now back to more important things like…Blogging! Yes!

Today I want to briefly talk about sleep. Sleep is very important to me probably too important. With all the time I spend sleeping I could probably have accomplished a lot of the things I want to do. However, the past two days have not been a reflection of my usual sleep pattern. I didn’t go to sleep until 6:00 this morning because I was working on my paper. I woke up at 9:15a to turn it in – so I only got about three hours of sleep. The night before I didn’t go to bed until after 5 in the morning and I woke up around 10a. Usually at the latest I’m in bed by 2am and I don’t have to wake up until about 9am. I get the 7 hours of sleep that is recommended.

Bottom line is

I stand behind that statement 100%. I’m a pro at sleeping. I can sleep anywhere and at any time of day. It doesn’t matter how bright the room is or how loud the television or radio is – if I’m ready to sleep that’s exactly what I’m going to do.

Not only is sleep good but it’s necessary to lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to note here that there is a difference between simply sleeping and getting rest. Each time we sleep our goal should be to rest.

“Rest is for the purpose of restoration. It is not just becauseyou’re tired. It is during a time of rest that you replenish or receive back those things that were expended or put out….The enemy does not want you to have rest.” -Bishop T.D. Jakes

A lot of people are sleeping but not getting any rest.

It is rest and not just sleep that prepares your body and mind for life’s daily challenges.

The enemy wins when we are not well rested. When you are mentally, physically or spiritually tired you can’t think straight. You make bad decisions. You say the wrong things, do the wrong things and ultimately you’re not able to really control your life because you’re operating out of weariness and frustration.

It is recommended that people get between six to eight hours of sleep per night.

If you are sleeping the recommended hours and still find yourself extremely tired then turn to the Word of God.

Ecclesiastes 5:12 says “People who work hard have sweet sleep whether they eat little or much…” If you are a servant of the highest then you are promised sweet sleep. Stand on the Word of God.

Some people do go to sleep but they get no rest because they are plagued by nightmares or even a fear of the dark and sleeping alone. This is a plan of the enemy to steal your rest. Proverbs 3:24 says “You can go to bed without fear; you will lie down and sleep soundly.”

Like David we should all take comfort in the fact that our God is watching over us. Psalm 3:5 “I lay down and slept, yet I woke up in safety, for the Lord was watching over me.”

No matter how many hours of sleep I get whether it be a nap or a full night’s sleep I am determined to get rest. Sleep. Rest. Yeah – it’s THAT important.

2 thoughts on “Day 8 of 28: Tired? Sleep. Rest.”

  1. Hi honey!! Thank you much.. I’m sure it was your prayers & faith that got me through to the end lol and that study break Wednesday night :wink wink:

    Like

Leave a Reply

